• Kathryn Hulland

Understanding Your Chakra System: Crystals for Each Chakras

Have you ever wondered what chakra system is and how it can work for your life though? You may have heard about chakras before, but never knew what they were or why they mattered. If this sounds like you then read on! In this article I will discuss the chakra system and what each chakra represents. I’ll also give some examples of crystals that might help clear any imbalances in your chakras. So whether you want to learn more about chakras or just need a little guidance with balancing them out, this may be of use.

During a Reiki treatment I always start by checking in with the chakra system. This helps give me a sense of where I need to focus the healing and any crystals I may wish to incorporate into it.

The chakra system is a network of energy centers found along the spine, I see them as wheels of energy circling within us. Each chakra represents something different, whether it’s emotions or spiritual beliefs about yourself and others. When each chakra is balanced, you feel more in tune with your body and stronger overall; however, when one chakra becomes imbalanced (i.e. the chakra is too open or closed) you can feel off balance and possibly have emotional issues. If unbalanced, you may feel negative emotions such as guilt or anger . These chakra balancing stones can help with those emotions and will make you feel more balanced overall.

We have lots of chakras in our body but there are 7 main chakras that we focus on. They are:

  • The Base Chakra : relates to the feeling of being grounded and secure. It helps us feel safe, protected and comfortable

  • The Sacral Chakra: represents our creative energy. This chakra also helps with emotions such as desire or anger

  • The Solar Plexus Chakra: associated with feelings like power, control, wisdom and confidence. When this chakra is off, you may feel powerless or unsure

  • The Heart Chakra: our center of love and compassion. When this chakra is balanced, we are more able to give and receive love freely

  • The Throat Chakra : often called the communication chakra . It relates to feelings such as truthfulness and honesty

  • The Third Eye Chakra: this chakra represents our intuition and imagination. When balanced, you are more likely to trust your gut feelings

  • The Crown Chakra: the highest chakra , it is believed that when open we think of ourselves as divine beings with a higher connection to spirituality

Now that you know a bit about chakras let’s talk about crystals. One way to balance chakras is to use a crystal that corresponds with the chakra in question. There are several stones for each chakra so I’ll go through one by one and tell you which stone might help, these are the ones I work with:

  • The Base Chakra : Black Tourmaline, fossilised wood or black onyx

  • The Sacral Chakra: Carnelian, orange calcite or red jasper

  • The Solar Plexus Chakra: Citrine, amber or tigers eye

  • The Heart Chakra : Rose quartz, green aventurine , or blood stone .

  • The Throat Chakra : Blue lace agate or sodalite

  • The Third Eye Chakra: Amethyst, Iolite or Labradorite

  • The Crown Chakra: Clear quartz, Fluorite or Selenite

Clear Quartz is a great stone for balancing out any chakras. It's a good crystal to have on you as it can help and be used in many ways! So whether you want to wear it or keep one at your desk, this stone will be great for chakra balancing. I love working with my Lemurian Quartz and my Fire & Ice Quartz.

Smokey Quartz is another big go to stone for me which is protective and helps clear negativity.

How do I use crystals to balance my chakras? Some people like to carry their stones with them in a bag or pocket, while others will wear them as jewellery. If you would prefer not to have your stone touching your skin all day long, try keeping it close by instead of on you. For example, you could keep a chakra balancing stone on your desk at work or near where you sleep to make sure it’s always close by.

You can also try sitting with the crystal and meditating with it. One exercise is to relax into meditation and focus on the crystal and what you are feeling. You could ask questions and see if anything arises.

As I mentioned above there are many crystals for each chakra that can help with chakra balancing . All of these stones have different energies and properties, so feel free to experiment with different chakra balancing stones to see what works best for you. If one chakra needs a little more work than the others, that stone will be your focus. You can also try wearing multiple chakra crystals, you don't have to wear, or have around you, only one at a time.

It’s important to remember that chakras need time and dedication in order to balance. You can’t just put on a chakra crystal necklace one day, wear it for an hour or two, and expect all your chakras will be balanced! It takes consistent work over several days/weeks/months depending on the status of each chakra.

I hope this post helps bring a little more understanding to the chakra system and what crystals might be best for your chakras. You can read more about them in animals here:

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All